Feng Shui

Chinese Zodiac Hours

In ancient times, in order to tell the time, people divided one day into twelve 2-hour periods, and designated one animal to represent each period according to each animal’s special time.

In Buddhism, legend has it that Buddha summoned all of the animals of the earth to come before him before his departure from this earth, but only twelve animals actually came to bid him farewell.

To reward the animals who came to him he named a year after each of them, the years were given to them in the order they had arrived.

  • Rat: 23:00-01:00 (when rats actively look for food).
  • Ox: 01:00-03:00 (when oxen begin to ruminate and start tilling the land)
  • Tiger: 03:00-05:00 (when tigers begin hunting prey)
  • Rabbit: 05:00-07:00 (when, according to Chinese folk tales, the jade rabbit on the moon starts pounding herbs with a pestle)
  • Dragon: 07:00-09:00 (when, in Chinese folk tales, dragons start marching westwards)
  • Snake: 09:00-11:00 (when snakes leave their holes)
  • Horse: 11:00-13:00 (when sunshine is the strongest during the day, and the horses remain rigorous while many other animals lie down to have a break)
  • Goat: 13:00-15:00 (it is believed that if goats will grow fatter if they eat grass during this time)
  • Monkey: 15:00-17:00 (when monkeys become very lively)
  • Rooster: 17:00-19:00 (when roosters return to their coops)
  • Dog: 19:00-21:00 (when dogs carry their duty to guard the houses)
  • Pig: 21:00-23:00 (when pigs are sleeping tight and sound)

Follow Us @woosahzen on: Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for Feng Shui And Zen Tips